PILGRIMAGE FROM SANTIAGO TO FINISTERRE -DAY 5

Wed 8 May 2024

Cee to Cabo Fisterra [16.2 km]

0 km Cee
2.5 km Corcubìón
4.3 km A Amarela
5.8 km Playa de Estorde
6.4 km Sardiñeiro de Abaixo
12.9 km Fisterra
Compostela [Fisterrana] – Tourist Office, Praza da Constitution, 15155 Fisterra
16.2 km Cabo Fisterra

3 pm – Bus from Finisterre to Santiago de Compostela / Stay at PR Badalada, Santiago

Today was the last day of this Camino, with my walk ending at Cap Finisterre, one of, though not the, most westerly points in Western Europe, marking the end of my trek across Spain from the French side of the Pyrenees to the Atlantic Ocean.

Of course, I included a paddle in the ocean as I made my way along the coast to Finisterre, a relief for my feet after just short of 90 km this week and the first real sense of achievement in completing such a long walk.

The views on this stage were spectacular, overlooking beautiful Galician beaches with golden sand and clear, turquoise water.

I got my brightly coloured Compostela from the tourist office and decided to head to Cap Finisterre, as I had enough time to get there and back before I caught the bus back to Santiago de Compostela.

As I left the tourist office, I met Motomi, the Japanese woman I had met at the albergue in Lago, and her Camino companion from Taiwan, so we walked to the lighthouse at Cabo Fisterra together. It was uphill all the way and not particular cool, but I knew that it was only about three kilometres, so it was best just to get your head down and keep walking.

As the headland came into view, there was a feeling of pride at reaching this landmark. We posed for photographs at the zero-kilometre marker post and got a sello from the hotel, before I had to head back into Finisterre to catch the bus to Santiago.

The day started with a couple of minutes of amusement for the locals in Cee. I stopped at Cafeteria Pazo in Cee for a cafe con leche, which was served with three churros. I ate one and was interrupted by a seagull that swooped down to nab the other two off the plate. Very impressive.

When I arrived in Santiago de Compostela, the city was celebrating the Ascensión Holiday for the next week which included some kind of mass orchestra later that evening, once I’d taken a look at the Ascension Day fiesta that included live music. A huge stage had been erected in front of the cathedral and there was a fantastic, vibrant atmosphere. It might not have been my taste in music, but it was entertaining nevertheless and everyone was good natured, even though there seemed to be plenty of booze being consumed.

Total Steps: 28,557
Distance  21.2 km

Today’s Playlist

Our Lady Of The Angels EP – The Durutti Column

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started